★SLU Wrestlers Win ICAC Tourney; Team Takes Eight Matches

Potsdam. — St. Lawrence for St. Lawrence with a thrill-university captured eight individual titles in winning the 1970 Independent College Athletic is a Conference Wrestling reversal to lead 4-1 with one period left. Hine made a sensational comeback in the third period with an escape, two reversals and predicament points but fell short. The rugged Rock has won 40 consecutive collegiate wrestling matches without a loss.

St. Lawrence completely dominated the championship events and predicament points but fell short. The rugged reversals, one with five seconds left, to win. Barker had a riding time advantage.

Fred Pearce of St. Lawrence with a thrilling 9-8 win over Hobart's Clark Hine. in the 118-pound class. Barker scored a takedown and reversal to lead 4-1 with one period with an escape, two reversals and predicament points but fell short. The rugged reversals, one with five seconds left, to win. Barker had a riding time advantage.

St. Lawrence completely dominated the championship event placing a wrestler in all ter final matches. The Larries finished with 111 points. Hobart was a distant second with 58 points. Clarkson had two champions and edged RPI for third place 47-43.

Joining La Rock in the winner's circle for St. Lawrence were: Chris Barker, 118-pound class; Fred Pearce, (126); Wayne Bleau, (134); Bill Dowhiggin, (142); Gary Allocco, (158); Gale Knull, (177); and

biggin, (142); Gary Allocco, (158); Gale Knull, (177); and

Norm Bell, (190).

Jay Robinson, (150) and Ron Miller, (167) were the Clarkson champions preventing a complete sweep by the powerful St. Lawrence team.

The ICAC champions

The ICAC championship was the second for coach Ted Strat-ford during 1969-70. Stratford guided the St. Lawrence football team to the ICAC title this fall and the best season in nearly two decades with a 7-1 overall record.

compiled a 7-1 Lawrence wrestling record this year and defeated all of its ICAC opponents in seperate matches.

The Larries defeated Clarkson, 37-3; Hobart, and RPI,

Union College, winner of the st three ICAC wrestling cnampionships, dropped out of the ICAC last fall. St. Law-rence crushed Union 23-9 in a February match.

Chris Barker won the first championship of the evening Chris

WSCS To Serve

'Sacrificial'

Meal Wednesday

The Women's Society of Christian Service of the First United Methodist Church, 627 Caroline St. will observe its Lenten meeting by holding the annual Sacrificial Meal, March 4. at 7:30 p.m. in Fellowship Hall of the church. Mrs. Richard Dillenbeck, program chair man of the evening, will present the annual program with the assistance of Mrs. Ralph Douglas.

The meal, consisting of foods such as are thought as being eaten at the time of Christ, will be eaten in silence and the silence will continue until all for the church of the sixth title for St. Lawrence with an 11-2 romp over Hobart's Bob Ellis. Knull missed the first part of the season with an injury but worked hard to come back as an ICAC champion. Knull scored three takedowns, an escape and a reversal in the win. Norm Bell won his 28th straight for St. Lawrence defeating Hobart's Joe Rinaldis 9-3 for the 190 title. In successfully defending his 190 title, Bell scored a reversal and near fall in the second period to break a 2-2 deadlock.

Bill La Rock showed why he is a three-time ICAC heavy-weight champion with a spectacular win over Clarkson's John Shaler. After a scoreless for the season with an injury but worked hard to come back as an ICAC champion. Knull scored three takedowns, an escape and a reversal in the win. Norm Bell won his 28th straight for St. Lawrence defeating Hobart's Joe Rinaldis 9-3 for the 190 title. In successfully defending his 190 title, Bell scored a reversal and near fall in the second period to break a 2-2 deadlock.

Bill La Rock showed why he is a three-time ICAC heavy-weight champion with a spectacular win over Clarkson's John Shaler. After a scoreless for the 190 title, In successfully defending his 190 title, Bell scored a reversal and to break a 2-2 deadlock.

meal, and officers' reports will ed a standing ovation at the be heard. A prayer group will finish.

be held at 7 p.m. with Mrs.

William Rogers as leader.

The action of the control of

meal.

vantage.

Bill Dowbiggin extended his

winning streak to 12 for Lawrence defeating Tom Agone of Hobart for the 142 title. The former Canadian national open champion scored a takedown that looked like a sure pin but the match was halted as Agone was injured. Dowbig-gin was awarded the title by default.

Jay

Robinson

broke the Larrie string with a 10-0 win over Ron Johnson of St. Lawrence. Robinson had two takedowns and predicament points but could not reg-

Clarkson's

ister a pin.
Gary Allocco won the fifth
Larrie title at 158 with an 8-0
win over Hobart's Dave Darrow. Allocco had two takedowns and an escape in the victory.

Ron Miller became the sec-

ond Clarkson champion winning the 167 title with a 7-6 decision over the Larries Mike Perfit. Perfit led 4-2 in the final period but Miller tied the match and won with a riding time advantage.

Gale Knull won the sixth title

be eaten in silence and the silence will continue until all John Shaler. After a scoreless have left the church. Hostesses first period, Shaler moved have left the church. Hostesses first period, Shaler moved for the meal will be Mrs. James ahead 1-0 with a second period Fletcher and Mrs. Evelyn Mc-escape. La Rock appeared to Williams. be in trouble but registered a The business meeting will sudden pin with 1:30 left in the convene at 7:30 prior to the contest. Both wrestlers receiv-

be held at 7 p.m. with Mrs.
William Rogers as leader.
The society has urged all the ladies of the church to attend, welcomes guests of other denominations to partake of the place finishers returning.