Cowboys Win NCAA Crown; Big Eight Dominates Tourney

Although the tournament was marked by upsets, pre-tournament favorite Oklahoma State literally walked away with first place at the 34th annual NCAA Wrestling tournament held at Barton Hall, March 26-28.

With two champions and four second places in the 10 weight classes, Oklahoma State amassed a total of 87 points, 29 ahead of Oklahoma, which had 58, and 41 ahead of third place Iowa State. All three top teams are in the Big Eight conference.

Cornell finished tied for 15th with Syracuse, each team having 14 points. Individually, -Chuck Bush finished fifth in the 115-lb. class, while Jeff Stephens came in sixth at 157.

Cornell, though, only played a suporting role to star Oklahoma State and the rest of the Big Eight. The Cowboys, who have won 24 of the 34 tournaments, were led by Joe James at heavyweight and Yojiro Uetake at 130.

Other winners were Terry Finn (Southern Illinois) at 115; Fred Powell (Lock Haven) at 123; Michael Sager (Okla.) at 137; Jerry Stanley (Okla.) at 147; Gordon Hassman (Iowa State) at 157; Don Millard (So. Ill.) at 167; Dean Lahr (Colorado) at 177; and Harry Houska (Ohio U.) at 191.

Lahr, not only won at 177, but also won the Outstanding Wrestler award at the tournament. He, along with the other winners and also those who placed second, received an automatic invitation to the Olympic trials.

Although Oklahoma State won the team title as expected, individuals did not fare as well, as upsets marked the three days of wrestling. Probably the biggest upset of the tournament was Syracuse's Jim Nance's first loss in college in the heavyweight division. Nance was decisioned, 2-1, in an extremely lackluster performance in the quarterfinals. Others upset included Norm Parker, Mike Johnson and Larry Kristoff.





CHUCK BUSH 5th in the Nationals

USAF F-105, unleashing air-to rockets at simulated enemy