## SPORTS

Inside

Classified

Entertainment

38

## FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 23, 2001

HIGH SCHOOL WRESTLING

## Local matmen seek spots in state tourney

A spot in the state championships will be the goal of nearly two dozen Orleans County wrestlers who will be competing in the sectional finals this weekend.

Medina and Albion grapplers will be competing in the Section VI state qualifer tournament at Kenmore West while Holley and Kendall matmen will be taking part in the Section V state qualifer at Brockport. In both sectional tournaments, competition begins this evening and continues throughout the day Saturday.

Niagara-Orleans League champion Medina will send a contingent of six grapplers to Kenmore West led by J.R. Roberts (119) and Greg Hodgins (145), who both became two-time Section VI Class AA champions last weekend. The Mustangs will also be represented by Jake Hartway (112), I.J. Bujalski (160) and James Tee (189) who all won Class AA titles and by Matt Root

(135) who placed fourth.

Roberts, who finished second in the Section VI state qualifier tournament a year ago, and Bujalski have both topped the 100 career victory mark this season. Bujalski is now 37-5 on the season and Roberts 35-2 while Hodgins and Tee have also both topped the 30 win mark at 31-4 and 31-11 respectively.

Dan Uderitz (130), who became a four-time Section VI Class AAA champion last weekend, heads Albion's delegation to the Section VI finals which also includes Mike Sanders (112), Justin Cooper (125) and Brad Watkins.

Uderitz, who now has 137 career wins, upped his season record to 35-2 with his AAA title victory while Sanders, who finished second is 31-4 and Watkins, who placed third, is 30-13.

Genesee Region League and Section V Class C champion Holley has the biggest contingent this weekend as the



Niagara-Orleans League champion Medina High will be represented by six grapplers at this weekend's Section VI state qualifier tournament. The Mustangs will be represented by J.R. Roberts, J.J. Bujalski, Greg Hodgins, Jake Hartway, James Tee and Matt Root, who are shown here with the N-O championship plaque along with their teammates Nate Hartway, Andy Hermann, Adam Sylvester, Elijah Garcia, Nick Hermann, Matt Crandall and Jevon Cecchini.

Hawks are sending a total of nine grapplers to Brockport.

A trio of Section V Class C champions - Andrew Grillo (96), Jeff Teike (119) and Adam Ezell (145) heads that group which also includes Jason Blanchard (171) and Ben

Doty (275) who both finished second at the Class C tournament, Fred Banks (135) who placed third and Matt Denning (103), Matt Paeth (125) and Ron Marx (160) who all placed fourth.

Two of the Hawks bring

undefeated records into the qualifier as Ezell is 37-0 and Grillo 34-0 while Teike is near perfect at 26-1. Three other Hawks have also topped the 30 win mark on the season as Banks is 36-8, Blanchard 35-3 and Doty 30-9.

Kendall's group is led by Class C champion Casey Burchfield (135).

The Eagles also got second place finishes at the Class C tourney from James Kirstein (103) and Richard Williams (152).