

All five school districts are represented on the 17 member All-Orleans County wrestling team. In front, from left, are Adam Grillo (Holley), Tim Uderitz (Albion), Steve Kruger (Kendall), Tom Russo (Lyndonville), Ashley-John Grillo (Holley) and Pat Gekoski (Kendall). In the middle row are Jamie Duffina (Medina), Jerry Bishop (Holley), Kurt D'Angelo (Kendall), Jim Marion (Kendall), Nate Flugel (Lyndonville) and Jerome Kramer (Albion). In the back row are Eric Banister (Albion), Christian Engert (Holley), Mike Kaness (Holley) and Seth Rak (Lyndonville). Absent from the photo is Derrick Hildreth (Albion). (J-R Photo By Mike Wertman)

All-Orleans County Wrestlers Honored

Ten league and or sectional class champions head the third annual All-Orleans County wrestling team as selected by the coaches.

Albion junior Tim Uderitz (91), Lyndonville sophomore Tom Russo (98) and Holley junior Ashley-John Grillo (98), who each captured both league and sectional titles this season, lead that talented contingent.

Five other grapplers captured league titles including Holley juniors Jerry Bishop (126) and Christian Engert (177), Medina sophomore Jamie Duffina (119), Lyndonville junior Seth Rak (215) and Kendall senior Jim Marion (138) while sophomores Jerome Kramer (215) of Albion and Steve Kruger (91) of Kendall both claimed sectional class crowns.

Rounding out the All-League squad are Adam Grillo (91) and Mike Kaness (215) of Holley, Derrick Hildreth (126) and Eric Banister (167) of Albion, Pat Gekoski (112) and Kurt D'Angelo (132) of Kendall and Nate Flugel (167) of Lyndonville.

Ashley-John Grillo, Engert, Marion, Russo and Duffina are all repeat All-County selections.

Receiving honorable mention were Jeremy Passarell (145) and Andy Yacano (250) of Holley, Eric Flugel (119) of Albion and Adam Kurtz (167) of Kendall. Uderitz, who posted a 6-0 regular season league record, went on to win both a Niagara-Orleans All-League title and Section VI Class AA crown before finishing second in the Section VI state qualifier tourney. He compiled a 28-3 overall record on the season. Russo, who went 27-3 on the season, repeated as a Genesee Region All-League champion and then captured a third straight Section V Class D title. He finished third in the Section V state qualifier tourney. Ashley-John Grillo captured both G-R League and Section V Class C titles for the third year in a row and went on to finish second in the Section V state qualifier tourney. He went 34-2

on the season to boost his career mark to 121-14.

Bishop posted a 27-11 record on the season while Engert, who also placed

fourth in the Section V Class C tourney, was 27-9.

Kramer, who went 5-1 during the duel match portion of the N-O season and placed third at the All-League tourney, finished the season with a 24-11 record.

Marion, who finishes his varsity career with a total of 130 victories, also placed second in the Section V Class C tourneyto go 27-6 on the season while Kruger, who also placed second in the G-R tourney and third in the Section V state qualifier, went 28-7.

Rak, who also placed fourth in the Section V Class D tourney, compiled a 24-8 record on the season.

Duffina, who was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler at the N-O All-League Tournament, also placed third in the Section VI Class AAA tourney. He compiled a 25-12 record on the season to up his career mark to 96-36.

Adam Grillo posted a 22-13 record on the season as did Kaness, who also placed second in the G-R tourney.

Hildreth, a sixth place finisher in the

Section VI Class AA tourney, went 6-0 in N-O duel match competition and 22-12 overall on the season while Banister, who placed second at the All-League tourney and sixth at the Class AA tourney, went 5-1 in the league and 23-8 overall on the season.

Gekoski, who placed second at the

Baumgartner Wins Sullivan Award

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. (AP) — Olympic wrestler Bruce Baumgartner, a finalist for the fifth time, won the Sullivan Award on Monday as the nation's top amateur athlete of 1995.

Baumgartner, 35, became the oldest recipient and the second wrestler to win the annual trophy presented since 1930 as a salute to the founder of the Amateur Athletic Union, James E. Sullivan.

"I really didn't expect it," he said. "It was a great field of athletes — on my fifth try. I was probably the most shocked person in that room. If I had a million dollars, I would have bet it against myself."

Baumgartner captured gold medals at the World Freestyle Wrestling Championships, the Pan American G-R tourney and fourth at the Section V Class C event, went 20-10 on the season while D'Angelo, who placed third at the Class C tourney, was 19-15.

Flugel, who posted a 20-9 record on the season, placed second at the G-R tourney.

Games, the U.S. National Championships and the World Team Trials during the 1995 season.

Speaking at ceremonies at Walt Disney World, Baumgartner said the honor was special because he labored for many years as an anonymous athlete in a little-known sport.

The award was presented by the 1994 Sullivan winner, speedskater Dan Jansen.

The other nine finalists were: Tommie Frazier (college football), Michael Johnson and Gwen Torrance (track), Rebecca Lobo and Lorenzen Wright (college basketball), Shannon Miller and Dominique Moceanu (gymnastics), Rebecca Twigg (cycling) and Tiger Woods (golf).

