

THS dedicates crown to Tyson

Niagara Frontier League powerhouse Tonawanda High School had four champions and easily captured the team title in the first Niagara Frontier Wrestling Officials Classic over the at Niagara weekend County Community College.

The Red Warriors chalked up 180 points while runner-up Clarence finished with 1651/2. Other local teams included Grand Island 122 (fifth place). Lewiston-Porter 96 and Cardinal O'Hara each (tied for sixth). North Tonawanda 661/2 place) and Niagara Falls 621/2 (12th place).

Team captain Jim Garigen, a titlist at 167 pounds, asked that Tonawanda's first place trophy be dedicated in memory of Paul Tyson. The Tyson youth died Saturday when the car he was driving was hit by a train in Tonawanda. Greg Brinker, also of Tonawanda, was a the car passenger in and suffered multiple injuries. He is listed in serious condition today DeGraff Memorial Hospital.

(See related story on page one)

Both Tyson and Brinker were graduated from Tonawanda last year and were members of the wrestling team. Garigen also extended the team's prayer to Brinker for a fast recovery.

Garigen was joined in the winner's circle by teammates Shawn Ryan, Sam Runfola and Steve Behrns.

Ryan defeated Mike Russo of Cheektowaga 9-7 in the 105-pound title while Runfola edged Dave Wright of Clarence 2-0 to win the 119 crown. Garigen beat Don Wood of North Tonawanda 13-3 at 167 Behrns won by default over Grand Scott Culbert Island's for the 177 title.

The other local winner was Cardinal O'Hare's Bill Eisenmann 2' 145. He beat Rich Senta of DeSales on overtime criteria in the finas.

Mike Massaro of Williamsville Sotuh was named the Outstanding Wrestler and Tony Torress of Alden was give the Quick Pin

Award for downing four opponents in 9:32. Torress finished third at heavyweight.

The Niagara Frontier Wrestling Officials Association worked the tournament free charge and NCCC offered its facility without The cost. organizers wish thank NCCC to coach Eric wrestling Knuutila for his efforts helping with the event.

NIAGARA FRONTIER WRESTLING OFFICIALS CLASSIC

OF A SOURCE CONTRACT.
Team Standings
Tonawanda 180
Clarence 166'g
Maryvale 152
Cheektowaga 130/2
Grand Island
Leviston-Porter96
Cardinal O'Hara
Williamsville Sotuh
Amberst 78
Alden75
North Tonawanda 661-
Niagara Falls 62%
DeSales 56
Cleveland Hill
Barker 20

11 — Earl Wright (GI) d. Jim Eberhardt (THS) 14.2. 18 — Mike Rotundo (Clar) d. Keith Nehrboss (Ald) 12.5. 186 — Shawn Ryan (THS) d. Mike Russo (Cheek) 9.7. 112 — Mike Massaro (WS) d. Dave Stevens (Mary) 13-0. 119 — Sam Runfola (THS). d. Dave Wright (Clar) 2-0. 128 — Keith Ginter (Amh) d. Len Testa (WS) 8-6. 122 — Tom Manzella (Clar) d. Dave Zack (Mary) 3.2. 129 — Dave Hickson (Cheek) pinned John Schrimmel (Mary) 1.35. 185 — Jail Eisenmann (O'H) d. Rich Scinta (DeS) overtime criteria. 155 — Ken Carler (GI) pinned Jerry Kania (Mary) 3.35. 187 — Jim Garigen (THS) d. Don Wood (NT) 13.3. 177 — Steve Behrns (THS) won by default over Scott Culbert (GI). 225 — Scott Freischlag.

(L-P) won by forfeit over Paul Kolaczynski

(Cheek). 250 - Bill Nagel (Mary) pinned

Shawn Regent (Cheek) 3:39.