## Pioneer Wrestlers Score 🖈



Three Section V champions of a year ago were among five titlists who paced Pioneer to the Section VI Class A wrestling crown at Cheektowaga Central Saturday night.

Pioneer totaled 91 points to runner-up Lake Shore's 76. Southwestern was third in the nine-school field with 70.

Ken Bernatz, Pioneer's twotime Section V champion at 103 pounds when his school was known at Arcade, took the 107pound championship by decisioning Southwestern's Bob Traniello, 8-1. Pioneer teammates Ed Keenan and Mike Morgan, both former Section VI titlists, also went all the way.

Double White Stripe Belted Tires E78x14 G78x14 F78x14 G78x15 H78x15 NOW ONLY TAX INCLUDED FREE MOUNTING

BEN GLASERS

822-6162

1425 Clinton

Limited Supply

Pioneer's other winners among nine finalists were Cliff Wienk at 137 pounds and 175-pound Russ Toldowski.

Newfane's Dave Platt, a 2-1 winner over Lake Shore's Sam Alberts at 155 pounds, was voted the tourney's outstanding wrestler. He also won weight class last year. In the unlimited weight class,

Cheektowaga's Ed Attea closed the meet by giving the home folks something to roar about, He pinned Trott's Doug Flack in Pioneer 91 Alden Lake Shore .... 76 Newfane ......

Southwestern ... 70 Troff .....

Cheektowaga ... 37 Eden ..... 12 Grand Island ... 35 98-Jeff Swan (S) d. Scott Donlon (GI) 7-5. 107-Ken Bernatz (P) d. Bob Traniello (S) 8-1. 115-Ed Keenan (P) p. Greg Bridges (S) 3:08, 123-Mike Morgan (P) p. Jon Lydell (\$) 3:35, 130-Kevin Donlon (GI) d. Lynn Heeter (LS) 7-6, 137-Cliff Wienk (P) d. Dennis Rendell (LS) 3-0. 145-Doug Lorenzi (E) d. Craig Brown (LS) 6-1, 155-Dave Platt (N) d. Sam Troldowski (P) d. Skeet Nau (S) 14-7. 185-Mike Lovetro (GI) p. Jim Havernick (C) 2:45, 215-Pete Green (T)

p. George Koch (LS) 3:05. Unlimited-

Ed Affea (C) p. Doug Flack (T) :15.

15 seconds, a school record. Attea took his foe down with a headlock and immediately into a pin. Southwestern's Tim Morrison took the 165-pound crown for the second straight year by decisioning Pioneer's Russ Tinch, last year's Class B 154-pound winner while he was at Delevan-Machias. The score was 8-5.

## **Dutch Girls** Lead Skating

MILWAUKEE, Wis. (AP) -Attje Kuelen-Deelstra and Stien Kaiser finished one-two in the 1970 ladies world speed ice skating championship Sunday, giving The Netherlands nine of the 15 medals awarded in the twoday tournament.

In the final 3,000-meter event. Hans Schut of The Netherlands. the world record-holder at that distance, sped to a 4:56.2 clock-